• Founder & CEO

    Dr. Mark G. Jackson

    Dr. Mark G. Jackson

    Dr. Mark G. Jackson was born and raised in Portland, Oregon, earning his B.S. in Physics and Mathematics from Duke University and his Ph.D. in Theoretical Physics from Columbia University under the supervision of Brian Greene. Dr. Jackson has authored almost 40 technical papers during his ten years of research experience at the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory, the Lorentz Institute for Theoretical Physics, the Paris Centre for Cosmological Physics, the Institut d’Astrophysique de Paris, and the African Institute for Mathematical Sciences. His research in theoretical physics and cosmology has included brane gas cosmology, cosmic superstrings, and signatures of ultra high energy physics in the cosmic microwave background. In 2008 he co-edited the NASA/Fermilab CMBPol Conference White Paper emphasizing the need for a polarization-dedicated satellite telescope. Realizing there was a shortage in scientific research funding, Dr. Jackson’s expertise in physics and enthusiasm for conveying science to the general public led him to create Fiat Physica to facilitate public support of scientific advancement.

  • Advisory Board

    Professor Edward W. Kolb

    Edward W. Kolb

    Professor Edward W. Kolb (known to most as Rocky) is the Arthur Holly Compton Distinguished Service Professor of Astronomy & Astrophysics and the Dean of the College of Physical Sciences at the University of Chicago, as well as a member of the Enrico Fermi Institute and the Kavli Institute for Cosmological Physics. In 2004 the founding Director of the Particle Astrophysics Center at Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory in Batavia, Illinois. Kolb is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and a Fellow of the American Physical Society. He was the recipient of the 2003 Oersted Medal of the American Association of Physics Teachers for notable contributions to the teaching of physics, the 2009 Excellence in Teaching Award from the Graham School of the University of Chicago, and the 2010 Dannie Heineman Prize for Astrophysics, awarded by the American Astronomical Society and the American Institute for Physics. His book for the general public, Blind Watchers of the Sky, received the 1996 Emme Award of the American Aeronautical Society. The field of Rocky's research is the application of elementary-particle physics to the very early Universe. In addition to over 200 scientific papers, he is a co-author of The Early Universe, the standard textbook on particle physics and cosmology.

  • Dr. Sandya Narayanswami

    Dr. Sandya Narayanswami

    Dr. Sandya Narayanswami provides consulting services to institutions of higher education on Corporate & Foundation Relations (CFR), with a specialty in the sciences. As a life scientist with a PhD, her unique skill-set combines faculty-level research expertise with a 15-year track-record of obtaining grants and gifts from major local, regional, and national foundations, corporations, and corporate foundations. She has successfully solicited support for capital investment, research, scholarships, endowments, operating costs, instrumentation and education, most recently at the California Institute of Technology. She helps research universities build strong, full-service CFR programs from the ground up, focusing on policy and procedure development, best practices, staff training and development, goal setting, fundraising and evaluation. Her strengths include interfacing effectively with faculty and foundation staff, designing and administering complex programs, stewarding relationships, and developing strategy for all aspects of fundraising from corporations and foundations. She is a real scientist who knows how to raise money for ""Big Science"".

  • Professor Neil Turok

    Neil Turok

    Professor Neil Turok is Director of the Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics. His work has been in the area of mathematical physics and early universe physics, including the cosmological constant and a cyclic model for the universe. With Stephen Hawking, he developed the so-called Hawking-Turok instanton solutions which, according to the no-boundary proposal of Hawking and James Hartle, can describe the birth of an inflationary universe. In 1992 he was awarded the Maxwell medal of the Institute of Physics for his contributions to theoretical physics. In 1994 he was appointed Professor of Physics at Princeton University, then held the Chair of Mathematical Physics at the University of Cambridge starting in 1997. In 2003, Turok founded the African Institute for Mathematical Sciences, a postgraduate educational centre supporting the development of mathematics and science. For this he was awarded the 2008 TED Prize, which he then used to launch the Next Einstein Initiative to establish additional AIMS centers across the entire African continent. That year he also received a ""Most Innovative People Award,"" for Social Innovation at the World Summit on Innovation and Entrepreneurship.